KTM ATV HQ Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Premium Member
940 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Morgantown, WV (4/12/2008) - FRE KTM's Adam McGill is threatening to run away with the 2008 Can-Am Grand National Cross Country Series. The West Union, West Virginia rider mounted a come-from-behind charge at the Pirelli Big Buck GNCC in South Carolina to collect his third-straight GNCC victory.

Rain came down hard early in the day but parted just in time to provide great racing conditions for the two-hour afternoon race. McGill started poorly but made up ground quickly.

"I had to put the pedal to the metal and the balls to the walls to get this win today," said McGill on the podium. "I got a terrible start and I knew I was going to be in for a long day."

McGill won the previous two GNCCs by grabbing the ITP Holeshot and checking out. This time he needed to make up time after a bad start, but he did just that and won by about 30 seconds over Team Excell Motorsports' Bryan Cook. Cook, who rides and trains in North Carolina and races local series on weekends off from the GNCC tour, thrilled the Carolina faithful with his second podium run of the season.

XC1 rookie Brandon Sommers continued his impressive season on his GT Thunder Yamaha by taking third. Rockstar/Yoshimura Suzuki's Chris Borich was fourth and defending GNCC Champion Bill Ballance was fifth on the factory Yamaha YFZ450.

Don Ockerman nailed the XC2 Pro Am victory on his GT Thunder Yamaha, with Brian Wolf and Tyler Lenig rounding out the top three.

Tom Clark Motorsports' Angel Atwell rebounded for her second overall win of the season in the morning race. Yamaha's Traci Cecco took second with Lexie Coulter third.

  1. Adam McGill (KTM)
  2. Bryan Cook (Hon)
  3. Brandon Sommers (Yam)
  4. Chris Borich (Suz)
  5. Bill Ballance (Yam)
  6. Matt Smiley (Hon)
  7. Ryan Lane (Hon)
  8. Donald Ockerman (Yam)
  9. Brian Wolfe (Hon)
  10. William Yokley (Hon)
  11. Chris Jenks (Can)
  12. Tyler Lenig (Hon)
  13. David Crane (Yam)
  14. Johhny Gallagher (Yam)
  15. Shawn Hess (Hon)
  16. Josh Kirkland (Hon)
  17. Sean Neidlinger (Hon)
  18. Craig Reed (Hon)
  19. Gabe Phillips (Hon)
  20. Matt Pierce (Yam)
Standings After 4 of 13 rounds
  1. Adam McGill (106/3 wins)
  2. Bryan Cook (75)
  3. Brandon Sommers (73)
  4. Chris Borich (63/1 win)
  5. Bill Ballance (62)
  6. Matt Smiley (61)
  7. William Yokley (58)
  8. Taylor Kiser (57)
  9. Ryan Lane (48)
  10. Jarrod McClure (38)
KTM is on a ROLL!!

· Premium Member
968 Posts
hey...what's that smell? i think it's a championship. not this year Beel!

· Premium Member
1,125 Posts
and to all you other racers out there, if you smell a delicious, crispy smell after the race, it's not your tailpipe, it a little bit of... shake..... and.... bake SHAKE AND BAKE!!! lmao

· Premium Member
968 Posts

· Registered
236 Posts
McGill must be angry today!
Last lap at Loretta Lynn's when he was in first, preparing to win again, run out of fuel, Balance passed him and won his first race of the season.

Loretta's ATV Updates

Sunday, April 27, 2008

It turns out Adam McGill did not run out of gas at Loretta Lynn's as previously reported. The FRE KTM rider ran into electrical problems on his machine on the last lap, as did his teammate Taylor Kiser, and that's what knocked them out of competition. McGill still holds the points lead in the series by virtue of his great rides earlier in the season.

Also, a clarification on last night's report, ITP
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.