KTM ATV HQ Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I'm pretty new to the form lol, I did my thing this year with my bone stock 450sx, did pretty well, got 2 intermediate championships and a pro amateur one:D

Now, after my first season with the 450sx, I ask for some tips and tricks for next season.

I got sponsored by Elka, and the stage fives I ordered arrived right after the first day of snow here... :(

So, tore the bike down, did a general frame inspection, painted the frame ktm gold, and shimmed the valves.

Here's my post season problems:

1: After my last race, quad won't idle. It ran fine, but just can't idle. I cleaned the jets, checked the valves, and changed the spark plug with no luck. Still no idle
2: Engine seems to run very hot, and blows huge clouds of smoke sometimes upon start up
3: Oil gets fouled particularily fast, I assume it's clutch plates.
4: Now engine fires up, will not idle, and puffs a bit of smoke from the exhaust even after it's warm.
5: Oil leaking out of exhaust header where it meets the engine, drip drip drip
6: Clutch sticks hardcore until completely warmed up
7: Not enough ladies dig my color scheme of blue, gold, orange

So can you guys here on the forum help me out for next season? What are some mods to get rid of these problems? Repairs needed? Pick up lines for ladies?

·
Super Moderator
2,399 Posts
Alot of your problems are from overfilling with oil. Make sure no fuller than half way up the sight glass when warm. Honda clutch plates, hd springs and high volume water pump will help the fouled oil and running hot issue. I think your clutch will be slipping and causing extra heat and crap in the oil. What oil are you using?

·
Registered
51 Posts
Get a motor builder sponsor?

Change your colors for the ladies?

Forget the ladies or you won't have enough money or time to race and put into your quad trust me on this one!

·
Registered
1,755 Posts