KTM ATV HQ Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I lost my front brakes at my last race - figured it was the stock pads and they heated up. Well I went out yesterday to replace with sintered ones and still didnt have anything. So I bled and bled and bled till I was sick of it. Still nothing. Any ideas? I've been racing for 5 years so I know how to blead brakes. Think mayber a seal is gone in the caliper? I have only gotten 5 rides on it so far.

·
Registered
500 Posts
I lost my front brakes at my last race - figured it was the stock pads and they heated up. Well I went out yesterday to replace with sintered ones and still didnt have anything. So I bled and bled and bled till I was sick of it. Still nothing. Any ideas? I've been racing for 5 years so I know how to blead brakes. Think mayber a seal is gone in the caliper? I have only gotten 5 rides on it so far.

I would think if it were the caliper it would leak all over the place. It sounds to me as it is your master cylender.

s/f
Brian

·
Premium Member
522 Posts
I had the same problem bleeding the lines when I went to longer ones.
Tried for about 3 hours using a vaccum set up.
Ended up taking it down to the local KTM bloke.
Took him near as long. Tapping lines, bleeding, tapping the lines more, pushing the pistons back in & getting air out of the master cylinder.
Said that some of the KTMs are just like that for no reason.
Well worth the stuffing around once they were done though.

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I would think if it were the caliper it would leak all over the place. It sounds to me as it is your master cylender.

s/f
Brian
Well its not leaking there....I guess lost down under is right I'm going to take it to the dealer and see if they can fix it. I'm sick of looking at brake fluid.

·
Premium Member
1,477 Posts