KTM ATV HQ Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
477 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will be putting together a 505 for the first time tonight. A friend had sand get by his air filter and "dusted" the top end. The dealership took it apart and was going to waranty it but said KTM denied it due to poor maintance. Any way I'm geting it in pieces to try to put new cyl., piston,
and head on for him and reassemble from a box of parts. I'm a Ford mechanic and do alot of work on bikes and quads on the side, but this could get complicated. I understand about the crank pin @TDC and the cam holder (the dealer is letting me borrow), not real sure on timing the water pump/balancer. Anything else that needs to be addressed, please let me know.

Thanks,
J.R.

·
Registered
880 Posts
I will be putting together a 505 for the first time tonight. A friend had sand get by his air filter and "dusted" the top end. The dealership took it apart and was going to waranty it but said KTM denied it due to poor maintance. Any way I'm geting it in pieces to try to put new cyl., piston,
and head on for him and reassemble from a box of parts. I'm a Ford mechanic and do alot of work on bikes and quads on the side, but this could get complicated. I understand about the crank pin @TDC and the cam holder (the dealer is letting me borrow), not real sure on timing the water pump/balancer. Anything else that needs to be addressed, please let me know.

Thanks,
J.R.

it's a pin lock like the crank pin. Take the the black allen screw out of the side by the water pump. I made a pin from a bolt cut the head off machine the bolt to 5mm,s so it will slide beween the teeth and screw in the case. Kept it in the case and remove after you install it back on.
Bill

·
Registered
477 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·